School History

Just after Nigeria attained independence in 1960, the authorities began to consider the problem of manpower needs and the desirability of having a secondary school system more closely related to such needs.

A nation-wide review of the secondary school system was undertaken, arising from both direct initiative and external advice. Sixth form work in science subjects was given top priority together with the introduction of technical streams at the school-certificate level.

The then Western Region government, with external assistance from USAID (Harvard University) who provided staffing resources and Ford Foundation (who provided funding until 1973), established Comprehensive High School Aiyetoro in February of 1963.

The school was the first Comprehensive High School in the country, situated on a 171-hectare land, 37 kilometers west of Abeokuta; it was founded as an experiment based on the philosophy proposed by the now belated founders, the Dr. Adam Skapski, Chief B. Somade, Judson T. Shaplin and John Monro "Champion of the disadvantaged", as contained in an April 21, 1962 article published in the Harvard College, Cambridge, MA daily newspaper "Harvard Crimson" [1] [pdf version]

The philosophy was designed to achieve three goals: Serving the educational needs and potentialities of every child: Providing education which is relevant to the Technical, Economic, Social and Scientific needs of the society, as well as developing democratically minded citizens who would be aware of their country's social, economic and political problems in the present world situations.

At inception, the school was made up largely of lecturers from Harvard University and other renowned institutions in the United States of America as well as education officers from the then Western Region Government service took off with about 70 students.

Comprehensive High School, Aiyetoro had definitely benefited from the services of the best hands in the educational ministry as well as renowned educationists going by the list of officers who have served there. Also, the immense foreign support provided for the school in funds, personnel and materials contributed enormously to the achievements of the school.

The school is in no doubt the precursor of the 6-3-3-4 system of education and largely responsible for the popularity of comprehensive education in the country. "Compro" as fondly referred to by many, especially its past student has produced many old students who now occupy very sensitive positions in the society both in Nigeria and abroad.


Principals Information

Principals of CHSA since the school inception in 1963:


Dr. John Sly

1963 - 1964


Chief J.B.O Ojo

1964 - 1968


Dr. D.J Bullock

1968 - 1970


Mr. L.A Sofenwa

1970 - 1974


Dr. M.O Alafe-Aluko

1974 - 1976


Mr. G.O Kehinde

1976 - 1978


Mr. S.A Ibikunle

1978 - 1982


Deacon G.O Adekunte

1982 - 1986


Mr. J.O Idowo

1986 - 1990


Chief P.A Olaleye

1991 - 1995


Mr. T.O Olanrewaju

1995 - 2001


Elder J.A Idowu

2001 - 2007


Mr. F.B. Sawyerr (SSS), Elder R. A. Fajobi (JSS)

2008 - date

Current Principals


Notable Alumni In USA

  • Dr Olusegun Salako 
    OB-GYN (Former President ANPA - Association of Nigerian Physicians in the Americas)
  • Dr. Olubunmi Abayomi
    Radiation Oncologist University of Virginia
  • Engr. Robert Agbede
    MD & CEO ATS Chester Engineers Pittsburg

School Location

Comprehensive High School Aiyetoro is located in the Yewa North (Formerly Egbado North) local government district of Ogun State of Nigeria.

This region has a land size of about 200,213.5 hectares, shares boundaries with Imeko/Afon Local Government in the north, in the south by Yewa South Local Government, in the west by the Republic of Benin and in the east by Abeokuta North and Ewekoro Local Government.

House Colors


  • Green House
  • Blue House
  • Crimson House
  • Girls Hostel I
  • Girls Hostel II

 House Colors

  • Green
  • Blue
  • Crimson
Bet atbet365 Bingo and win.